Leo's Judo Journal

Posted by: Leo_E_49

Leo's Judo Journal - 01/24/12 02:58 AM

Thought I'd share my experiences training Judo with anyone who might be interested. Today I started training, got my white belt and Judo gi.

We started with the usual stretches and then went on to break falls and rolls. I was surprised by how dizzy I got after the rolls but it cleared up after a while.

We then went on to cover a few pins in order:
Kesa Gatame
Kuzure Kesa Gatame
Mune Gatame
Kuzure Kami Shio Gatame
Ushiro Kesa Gatame
Tate Shiho Gatame
(Found the names on judoinfo.com because I forgot them from class)

We then learned Osoto Gari.

The beginner class I joined is small (6 people) and all white belts. I think I'm the youngest person in the class too. The class was pretty laid back because most of the students have to go to work the next day.

Altogether a good first lesson! smile
Posted by: Prizewriter

Re: Leo's Judo Journal - 01/24/12 05:31 AM

Awesome stuff dude! Sounds like a good class. Starting from the bottom up is the best way to start in Judo.

Keep the journal going as long as you can, look forward to reading it.
Posted by: Dobbersky

Re: Leo's Judo Journal - 01/24/12 08:29 AM

Excellent, I start my Judo Class in 3 weeks, already got my Gi and looking forward to learning how to backward roll correctly and safely, My Goal with Judo is to learn the Kodakan Goshin Jutsu Kata

Re: Leo's Judo Journal - 01/24/12 12:55 PM

Er good luck! Goshin Jutsu Kata is rarely taught in most Judo schools. I've seen it done at a seminar once, but that was by request. Honestly, a lot of modern Judoka see Kata as not much more than something that has to be done for a grading/promotion. They learn as much as they need to to get their next belt, then forget about it. Most of the time in Judo class is spent drilling technique and sparring.