Ought I choose what I want, or what I can get?

Posted by: Mahat

Ought I choose what I want, or what I can get? - 05/27/10 12:51 PM

Hello everyone, I'm currently a college student, math major, and I really want to learn judo. I think it's beautiful and I'm really interested in training the way one trains in Judo. The problem is, being a college student, I have no car and the nearest reputable place is about 50 miles away. It's possible I can work and get a vehicle and insurance, but this will seriously tap into my funds both for college and Judo, and may not even be possible.

The other options are, there's a great amateur wrestling place, and I know a few people who go there and it seems fun. I'd just rather be learning Judo.

And lastly there is a Kung Fu (Wing Chun) school here in the legacy of Yip Man and the instructor and the classes seem great. I went to one and he just showed us the basic idea (Some hand trapping and escaping stuff) and then told us to pick a partner and go at it, see if it works.

Once again the problem is that I know I really want to learn judo, so do you guys think I should pick one of these? Or should I hold out for Judo? It could be more than a year or as short as a month depending on how expensive living here during the summer turns out to be.
Posted by: Prizewriter

Re: Ought I choose what I want, or what I can get? - 05/27/10 01:16 PM

Hello.

Wing Chun and Judo are, as you know, pretty different. You are unlikely to ever get the two confused! In that sense, doing WC won't harm you in terms of studying Judo.

On the other hand, Wrestling teaches a similar range (grappling) and for sure there is a lot of cross over between freestyle/collegiate wrestling and Judo. So if you had a base in one system, you might find learning the other that much easier.

I love Judo, but 50 miles would be too much for me to travel to study.