Jujitsu Randori

Posted by: Rayson

Jujitsu Randori - 09/25/08 08:56 PM

Yo guys.
In your opinion, how should jujitsu randori be conducted? Do you think it is beneficial to self defense training? How is it done in your school.
Posted by: Fletch1

Re: Jujitsu Randori - 09/25/08 10:56 PM

I think for the most part, if Traditional JJ is to be truly effective and train students to protect themselves, there should be an avenue for training against progressive resistance in an evironment that encourages problem solving and improvization.

Judo with striking comes to mind as the small joint attacks are very difficult to practice at full speed in a safe manner. If left to develop on it's own, it would soon closely resemble sport MMA.
Posted by: aikibam

Re: Jujitsu Randori - 09/26/08 01:21 AM

i've been studying traditional aiki jujitsu for four years. I love it. I study under grandmaster irving soto. actually that's the reason i signed up for this. some people have have been bad mouthing my grandmaster. If my grandmaster isn't the real deal why does he train navy seals, delta force ect. as a matter of fact i will gladly challenge anyone who would like a test of skills. my traditional jujitsu vs. your whatever. so do i beleive in traditional jujitsu? yes i do! as far as the rendori. chew them up and spit them out. think about it
Posted by: aikibam

Re: Jujitsu Randori - 09/26/08 01:39 AM

oh and by the way.aiki-jujitsu is the father art to the arts you know as aikido, judo, karate, and brazilian jujitsu. so if you believe that one or more of these arts are effective, then by all means take a look at aiki jujitsu. also known as diato ryo jujitsu
Posted by: Prizewriter

Re: Jujitsu Randori - 09/26/08 05:27 AM

I take it you are referring to this: http://www.fightingarts.com/ubbthreads/s...part=1&vc=1

I think you should make another thread about any issue you have with people on the forums opinions of Mr Soto. Its not fair to take over another persons thread.