BJJ or Judo

Posted by: Zoso4

BJJ or Judo - 06/05/07 08:52 PM

Ive been doing Tae Kwon Do for about 2 years and am going to switch to either Judo or BJJ. Im leaning more toward bjj because of the extensive ground work but don't like what ive heard of a lack of takedowns and falling training in it. While Judo it seems is the opposite with very extensive takedowns and throws but not so much groundwork because of the rules. So basically are they both equal in their own right for self defense or is judo more sport oriented because if i was to do bjj i would have to make a 20 minute hike while judo is right next store to me. Any way thnks in advance.
Posted by: Taison

Re: BJJ or Judo - 06/05/07 08:56 PM

Try both. See which one is more suitable for you. They're basically the same animal with different strengths.

Go do some free lessons. See if you like either the ground 'n pound aspect or slammin' people aspect.

-Taison out
Posted by: JKogas

Re: BJJ or Judo - 06/05/07 09:39 PM

Find a judo school that emphasizes ne-waza and you're good to go.

-John
Posted by: Leonine

Re: BJJ or Judo - 06/06/07 01:19 AM

Don't judge a book by it's cover. From your post it sounds like you want a good 50-50, takedowns and ground work. Well, there are both BJJ and Judo schools that do this, so you'll just have to go and see if these schools near you are like this.
Posted by: crablord

Re: BJJ or Judo - 06/06/07 03:09 AM

may t3h dim mak be with you
Posted by: Viator

Re: BJJ or Judo - 06/06/07 03:10 PM

Judo's right next door. Convenience is always an advantage on those days where you really have to make yourself go train. As for BJJs lack of breakfall, it's usually not a problem because not a lot of guys no much more than a single and double leg anyway, and maybe some clinch throws.

Do one, cross train in the other occasionally.
Posted by: Tower_Bloodthorn

Re: BJJ or Judo - 06/06/07 08:49 PM