Soft technique?

Posted by: McSensei

Soft technique? - 02/23/06 05:26 PM

Right, first off I'm fairly new to this jujutsu lark so bear with me.

Can someone here explain when it becomes a "soft" art.

For the last 6 months or so, on and off, I have been going to JJ classes and so far have found the art to be very much a "hard" art.
As an example, if someone swings a big right hook at you you can step in and high block the punch while sliding your right hand round the attacker for a body drop.
This is a fairly typical scenario that we practice with lots of variations, but they all seem to employ some form of "hard blocking" to start with.
Is this a typical way that us beginners are taught that will lead on to "softer" things or should JU-jutsu be called GO-jutsu.
Posted by: mukashimantis

Re: Soft technique? - 02/23/06 06:46 PM

soft in relation to ju jitsu would not mean weak but rather the use of ki as in aiki ju jitsu.many arts rely on strength or weight. old style jujitsu,that which aikido derived from does not.also ,the more advanced the practitioner,the more ki or "softness" would be used.i don't speak japanese but i believe the translation of jujitsu as soft is a problem in translation to english.hope this helps.mantis.
Posted by: Leo_E_49

Re: Soft technique? - 02/23/06 08:02 PM

Quote:

Can someone here explain when it becomes a "soft" art.

I've not encountered much hard blocking in my style of JJ. Most of the blocks are similar to Aikido ones, except we employ grabbing at the elbow joint, in the middle of the forearm and on the upper arm, as well as at the wrist. If we do block hard, it is usually to allow us to enter into the clinch more easily.

Besides, Jujutsu is supposed to be soft on you, not your opponent.
Posted by: Dereck

Re: Soft technique? - 02/24/06 12:55 AM