Thinking of joining a judo school, how's this one?

Posted by: Mr_Heretik

Thinking of joining a judo school, how's this one? - 02/18/06 04:05 PM

http://www.oishi-judo.com/FRAME.htm

^I don't know what to look for in a judo school so I have no idea if this place is good or not. As for what I look for in any MA class:

-Its not too far, I can commute.
-Seems like it has enough room.
-Schedule that works for me.
-Even has some jujitsu on saturdays.

Questions:
In the fees section, do those look okay? If anything I'm thinking of doing the 20 classes, and if I like them , then I'll get a different plan. So what do y'all think?
Posted by: SubZero

Re: Thinking of joining a judo school, how's this one? - 02/18/06 06:34 PM

"If you practice in a blue judogi, sensei will choke you."

I'm new to jujitsu/judo myself...I dunno. I'm sure if those are really his credentials it would be great if you can afford it.

P.S. Don't show up in a blue judogi.

Re: Thinking of joining a judo school, how's this one? - 02/18/06 06:57 PM

Since I know nothing about judo I have to ask. What does the color of the judogi matter? What are the politics and issues behind this?
Posted by: Taison

Re: Thinking of joining a judo school, how's this one? - 02/18/06 10:27 PM

Blue gi? That just means your the opponent. It makes judging throws easier to view when you watch through slow motion video. Imagine having a big tournament and suddenly both fall down. You watch the video to see who did the throw but all you see is 4 white legs in a blur. Now if one wears blue you can see whose leg did the technique and threw the opponent.

Advise. . Never wear blue gi. Either Sensei will choke you, or the senior student will randori with you until end of class.

-Taison out

Re: Thinking of joining a judo school, how's this one? - 02/18/06 11:00 PM

So for the record, this is no McDojo right?
Posted by: SubZero

Re: Thinking of joining a judo school, how's this one? - 02/20/06 02:19 AM

Quote: