effectiveness of judo in a street fight

Posted by: Anonymous

effectiveness of judo in a street fight - 11/13/04 09:04 PM

I have been pratising Judo for 4 years and am a blue belt. Honestly, to make Judo really effective, executing brutal throws is a must. Firstly, a brutal throw will leave the opponent lying in pain compared to a simple striking. One example is a circle throw that may cause the opponent to break his head. Secondly, a brutal throw will scare the other opponent into submition or flight.

Otherwise, Judo is really ineffective except for its throw. Pinning is still able to be countered by bitting which is banned in the dojo. Pinning also leaves your back open to attack by a second opponent if present. I have also found that some or most of the throws in Judo allows the opponent to fall on the back SAFELY. He could just climb up and you have to do everything again.

Re: effectiveness of judo in a street fight - 12/06/04 09:22 AM

Please get more degree at judo. ŋ What About Shime Waza & Kansetsu Waza? Chokes & Dislocations are 100 % warranteed

Re: effectiveness of judo in a street fight - 12/06/04 10:18 AM

Judo is great for the street - hey, how does one land safely on the cement???

And you could always control the opponent to fall on his head and get SERIOUSLY injured...

It is just that not enough practise without clothes is done, and, besides, street clothes are not tough enough to bear
a hard grip & pull,
Posted by: Ed Glasheen

Re: effectiveness of judo in a street fight - 12/06/04 10:32 AM

First the throw you describe is Tomoe-Nage. Try Tawara-gaeshi or Daki-wakare. Many others that only a small varience will severly hurt your opponent. Those two throw do not require clothing either.
And I disagree with Judo being ineffective. It has its strong point and weak points.