Is choking safe?

Posted by: n8080820

Is choking safe? - 05/29/02 02:02 PM

I am a first dan in newcastle in the uk. I am also a doctor. To combine the 2 i am doing a study on how safe judo chokes are. has anyone here come accross any info or medical research surrounding this?
please help me. i am too lazy to do this properly.
Posted by: gus

Re: Is choking safe? - 06/06/02 06:31 PM

in and old back issue of "black belt mag."dr.kowaii don't think i spelled the name right.choking or shime waza was explored by the kodokan.i gathered for the length of time applied to the point of pass out.no sweat.just holding the choke beyond that point could produce damage.i've been choked out many times.but then i have a fast tapout.
Posted by: CWP

Re: Is choking safe? - 09/13/02 07:17 PM

I do cardiovascular ultrasound. I haven't seen any official literature on the matter, but I have done a little experimentation on my own. Most people think the mechanism of the choke is due to compression of the carotid arteries limiting bloodflow to the brain; but I've found that the carotids don't compress even with painful pressure. The jugular veins, however, flatten easily. Add this knowledge to the appearance of someone being choked-bright red face. So chokes apparently work by limiting outflow, not inflow-thereby letting the victim "down" gently.
The only danger I can think of would be if the one being choked had plaque or calcification inside of the carotid arteries that could be dislodged (stroke time!), or trauma to the vessles or cervical spine from an overly-vigorus technique.
Posted by: kempo_jujitsu

Re: Is choking safe? - 06/15/03 08:05 AM