Increased Injury, Decreased Flexibility!!

Posted by: Leona

Increased Injury, Decreased Flexibility!! - 10/18/09 02:14 PM

Hi All!

So, I'm 24 and I've been training for just under 5 years in Shotkan karate. Up til about 3 months ago I have been blessed with great flexibility and have gone though my karate life basically injury free (a bit of the usual knocks but nothing thats taken more than a few weeks to heal)

However, the last 3 months my flexibility has dropped a lot (Im struggling to touch my toes which as never been a problem before!) and I've been injury ridden now getting pain in my ankle, hip, elbow and neck/shoulder and lower back (!) I do take joint care suppliments once a day.

I am due for my shodan grading in march so I have stepped up my training a bit but not so much that I am overdoing it, certainly no more than I have previously, currently I am training 4 times a week in karate (average about 2 hours a session) swimming twice a week (I picked swimming as it is low impact) and playing squash once a week (not so low impact but good fun!)

So... after a long introduction, what I really wanted to ask was: is this drop in flexibility normal at my age or after doing ma's for 5 yeard? and has anybody got any good tips to combat it?! and really the same with the aches and pains?

Any help and advice would be hugely appreciated as I love training and I don't want injuries and the like getting in the way! Thanks!

Lxx
Posted by: MattJ

Re: Increased Injury, Decreased Flexibility!! - 10/18/09 05:34 PM

Hi Leona. 24 seems a bit young to be incurring those injuries, but not unheard of in people that are very active, like yourself. The drop in flex is definitely not normal, though. I am 40, and still have most of my flex from when I started MA, 25 years ago.

I would hazard a guess that the squash may be aggravating something. Maybe take a week or two off from sqaush, and see what happens to start.
Posted by: Ogoun