Help starting a diet

Posted by: Disturbed1

Help starting a diet - 04/17/06 01:05 PM

Hi everyone, I was wondering if anyone could help me start a diet I'm 280 pounds about 6'2. I am a manager at a Wendys and a curret full time college student. So most the time I have to grab something and eat on the go. What foods should I watch for not to eat. I'd like to eat more Salads but its hard to sit down and eat one. So are there anything I could buy at the store which would be fast to make and easy to eat at work. Also if you know any foods I could eat at Wendys while I'm there it would help a lot. My physical therapist told me to stay away from red meats and eat more greens. So any help is welcomed thanks.
Posted by: tuxette

Re: Help starting a diet - 04/18/06 03:01 AM

Sit down and eat. If you don't have the time, *make the time*, even if it goes over something else, like watching TV or getting to the beer keg party on time.

Stick to clean and lean foods, meaning stay away from the fast food.
Posted by: Cord

Re: Help starting a diet - 04/18/06 03:09 AM

You have been 'on a diet' since the day you were born. What you need is to change your eating habits so as to have a healthy diet you can maintain for your whole life. Thats a big change in your life, not a short term 'fix'.

your therapists advice is good. Plenty of lean meats (poultry and fish), fresh fruit and veg, and complex carbohydrates (rice,pasta,potatoes,and,cereals). Grill meats where possible, and avoid processed food/ready meals- they tend to be full of salt and fats.

If such natural foods are not easily available to you, then you will need to spend some of your free time preparing meals to carry with you. It is not as convenient as eating on the go, but doing that has made you 280lbs and seek the advice of a physical therapist, so I would suggest the extra effort would be worth it