tai-chi sword instructional tape/dvds

Posted by: Anonymous

tai-chi sword instructional tape/dvds - 03/31/05 07:48 PM

I am quite new to sword combat as a whole,
but against what you might think I am not learning strictly by myself. Both of my senseis', one of which is fantastic with the katana and is knowledgeable about edged weapons as a whole, are willing to answer any question I have about it, and have shown me a few basic techniques along with
a basic kata and some breakdown principles
for the sword in general. My sensei's will not teach me, or anyone else really, any sword combat because they say it requires excellent balance and a good working knowledge of body mechanics and proper body alignment because of the ideology that there was no 'one good cut' because every attack was the 'one good cut'. Really, up to this point, myself and one other person in the dojo are the only ones that my sensei's have shown the little that they have to. So, to go forward on my own a little until I have enough proficiency with weapons in their minds to actually be eligible to learn sword. Which combative, not the tai-chi exercise forms, tai-chi instructional tape/dvds out there or masters'/instructors should I look for.
Up until, I never really had a way to sift out what was good and what was not via google. Thank you much
-Demonologist437

Re: tai-chi sword instructional tape/dvds - 04/01/05 03:00 PM

I hate to see a topic wothout replies so......

<reply>

Re: tai-chi sword instructional tape/dvds - 04/02/05 09:23 AM

Demonologist, frankly, I'm having a hard time making out what you are saying. Your teachers refuse to teach you sword because they think you are not good enough, and so you have decided to go behind your back and learn without them.