Please let me introduce myself...

Posted by: Anonymous

Please let me introduce myself... - 03/15/05 12:00 PM

Hello friends.

My name is Charlie. I'm 24 years old. I'm from Texarkana, TX. It's a small town of about 90,000 on the border of Arkansas and Texas. I'm hoping my new friends here won't geographically stereotype me [IMG]http://www.fightingarts.com/forums/ubb/smile.gif[/IMG]

My martial arts ...resume (for lack of a better word) is 4 months TaeKownDo. 10 months Hapkido and Aikido. 6 months Krav Maga (ask for info if you're not familiar with this art, it's brilliant). My favorite, however, is my Shotokan Karate.

Why?

I got very lucky with my Shotokan school. I've been training for 2 years and I'm still white belt. Mr. Johnson (my teacher) does his class with tuition just enough to break even, so it's basically non-profit. He says it will take 6-7 years for anyone to receive black belt, understanding the ways of Shodan, Nidan, Sandan, Yondan. Godan.

I'm in love with this school also because Mr Johnson's class is very traditional but not completely traditional to Shotokan. It's Shotokan with a slight cross-train in Aikido... and a few other Japanese arts that I'm not remembering the names of at the moment [IMG]http://www.fightingarts.com/forums/ubb/smile.gif[/IMG] I'm sorry. After I realized that I was learning the same things in Shotokan as I was in Aikido, I dropped out.

Here is where I explain my problem with most schools (TaeKwonDo in-particular). But please keep in mind, I understand this is not all schools.