3 Year Self-Taught

Posted by: Anonymous

3 Year Self-Taught - 10/27/04 05:48 PM

Hello. I've been working by myself for 3 years, and have one underling, but I really wanted to get some real experience. Any suggestions on what I should train in?
Posted by: laf7773

Re: 3 Year Self-Taught - 10/27/04 06:00 PM

First you should find out what is available in your area.

How exactly are you teaching someone else when you haven't had proper training yourself?

Re: 3 Year Self-Taught - 10/27/04 06:08 PM

[QUOTE]Originally posted by laf7773:
First you should find out what is available in your area.

How exactly are you teaching someone else when you haven't had proper training yourself?
[/QUOTE]
I just taught what I knew already from books I'd read. Also, I am better than a friend of mine who had training in ninjutsu.

[This message has been edited by ModernWanderer15 (edited 10-27-2004).]
Posted by: Charles Mahan

Re: 3 Year Self-Taught - 10/27/04 06:35 PM

Laf is right. The first step is to find out what's available in your area. Legitimate training oppurtunities are few and far between. Most folks don't have any choices at all. A few lucky folks have two oppurtunities in their area. Unless your willing to drop everything and move, the general advice is to find what's available in your area, research the credentials of the dojos you do have access to, and go from there.

If you let us know where you are, then we might be able to suggest things in your area.

Re: 3 Year Self-Taught - 01/08/05 06:52 PM

Thank you laf for your respected advice.To let you know, he's not as much a student as he is a training partner. I also thank you, Mr. Mahan.

Re: 3 Year Self-Taught - 01/08/05 09:08 PM

ModernWanderer15:
where are you located there are free kendo classes in ohio. Cleveland , portsmouth , they are others also. if not in ohio what state. I will check for you . , Gary

Re: 3 Year Self-Taught - 01/09/05 03:45 AM