Kumdo question

Posted by: Kaoru

Kumdo question - 05/10/03 12:29 AM

Hajimemashite! Dozo yoroshiku.

I am new to this BBS.

I just began studying Kumdo-because Kendo wasn't available(Which I'd wanted because am very interested in Japanese sword arts). I live in a very small town where there is only one dojo offering swordarts, so I had no other option. I have a good background in Tae Kwon Do, and the school I studied at, was very well run with teachers who expected students to be polite and etiquette was enforced, and not only that, the teachers themselves behaved in a courteous and polite manner in return. Also, the philosophy behind this art was also taught and respected. This dojang I went to, was in another state before I moved.

Anyway, I have noticed the teacher at the dojang where I am studying at, wears tennis shoes on the dojang floor, and wears an old windbreaker over his Gi, which is not worn in a respectful manner. Not only that, when I bow to him and greet him when I see him, he does not even acknowledge the fact that I hve shown him respect with a bow in return. I've been to three classes so far, and each time I feel just a bit insulted in his lack of manners and respect for his dojang and uniform. The dojang I studied at for Tae Kwon Do drilled into our heads courtesy and respect for one another and ect. at every class, and the teachers always respected us enough to return our show of respect with a bow back. And, ever since, it has just been a part of me that seems natural to do.

I am not sure what to think about his manner of dress, either. I find it just wrong to dress like this in the dojang. I see it as a lack of respect for the sword art and the dojang and for the class. It is just driving me crazy, because I can't say anything to him about this or his manners, because I am a student.