Sword Styles

Posted by: Apokalypsi

Sword Styles - 08/27/07 03:11 AM

I am very new to martial arts and I'm wanting to learn some sword fighting. I saw this one style in Equilibrium that caught my eye and was curious if it was real and, if so, what it was. I am also wanting to learn some form a sword fighting that uses two swords. What styles are there that use double swords?
Posted by: Charles Mahan

Re: Sword Styles - 08/27/07 08:43 AM

First. Equilibrium was a movie. Most movie sword fighting is just that. Movie sword fighting. It has nothing to do with real sword arts. Real sword arts tend to be too boring for hollywood's tastes.

I can't really speak for the western arts and so won't try. I'm sure someone will be along shortly to address the issue from that point of view. From the Japanese Sword Art perspective, there are two sword techniques in Kendo, Hyoho Niten Ichi Ryu and a handful of other koryu. That said, none of those schools are two sword styles as such. They merely contain a few two sword techniques in what is mostly a single sword system. So if your looking for real world sword styles which use two swords most of the time. The JSAs are not for you.

Escrima might be more of what you are looking for.
Posted by: ScottUK

Re: Sword Styles - 08/27/07 10:55 AM

Perhaps escrima is for you?

Re: Sword Styles - 08/27/07 03:21 PM

Thanks guys. I figured that style from Equilibrium was fake, but I wanted to make sure. I'll look into escrima and see if that interests me. Otherwise, I'll do Iaido like I had originally planned.
Posted by: JMWcorwin

Re: Sword Styles - 08/27/07 03:40 PM

Depending on the style of Iaido, generally it consists mainly of drawing and cutting, not a whole lot of 'fighting' necessarily. You may want to find a school that also does Kenjutsu or Kendo if you're interested in that.

As for western styles, traditional fencing does rapier and dagger. But, usually you have to work up to that starting w/ foil, then epee, etc.
Posted by: Ames