iaido

Posted by: raist0430

iaido - 05/16/05 06:18 PM

aside from kin taylor's web site are there sny good places that i can order any dvds that show the various katas for iaido and are they worth it.
Posted by: Charles Mahan

Re: iaido - 05/16/05 10:38 PM

Could you be a little more specific? "Iaido" is an awfully broad term. That's kinda like saying..."Anyone know of any good Karate videos?" What style are you looking for? Are you looking for demonstrations? Instructional video?

Re: iaido - 05/17/05 08:59 PM

well im looking for any instructional videos . as for being specific im quite new to this so my apologies for not knowing that iaido is like karate and has many different styles . then again i wouldnt be comparing karate and iaido . seems like apples and oranges .

Re: iaido - 05/17/05 09:01 PM

before i got ill i was practicing Muso Jikiden Eishin ryu i didnt know the name sorry

Re: iaido - 05/17/05 11:12 PM

So why not just go back to your dojo? Why look for instructional videos?
Posted by: Benjamin1986

Re: iaido - 05/18/05 05:47 PM

Are they worth it?

Probably not. It is extremely difficult to learn swordsmanship (especially Iaido) from videos or tapes due to the lack of someone to correct you if you are doing something wrong. I guess that it could be done if you had a heck of a lot of patience, at least two full length mirrors, and an extremely detailed video. However, you will probably still miss a lot, and if there is any alternative, I would advise against it.

Iaido is especially difficult from a video due to the minor, minor details involved in each draw. If you look through the archives you can find the story about how Charles almost earned the title "one-hand" through a small mistake (if he had been using a sharpened blade, he would have). The same goes for you.

I would suggest that you find a teacher. Books can only take you so far in anything, but with steel, your mistakes hurt.

Re: iaido - 05/18/05 11:31 PM

Quote: