Thank you.

Posted by: Jamoni

Thank you. - 03/25/04 10:12 PM

As I sit here, I can hear gunshots, and the sounds of police cruisers racing TOWARDS them. We take it for granted that police officers will do this, without ever wondering how or why. And often without appreciating it. I know I have complained about the sorry state of my city/neighborhood, but that is not the failure of the police, it's the failure of each and every member of society that doesn't help out. So, to whoever just raced past my home to save us from ourselves, thank you and good luck.
Posted by: Spanky-77

Re: Thank you. - 03/25/04 11:36 PM

I am a police officer in Kansas City, MO and I respond to these types of calls everyday. I'm not here to toot my horn but my perspective is I want to help the victim in any way possible and treat them the way I would want a police officer to treat me. I just hope that no one was seriously hurt during the shots fired call.
I will have to say that when you have bullets flying in your direction it makes you appreciate and look at life in a new prespective. Life is truly a fragile thing and something as small as a pencil eraser can kill you when traveling at a high velocity. It is nice to hear from people who appreciate and understand what we do everyday. Most of the time we are put down and demonized by many. So I should say, "No...thank you for understanding the danger in our job."
Posted by: Anonymous

Re: Thank you. - 03/26/04 12:33 PM

I trained as an emt, saw what they go thru everyday.The stress and emotional battering they endure,yet they keep on going. The most amazing thing, our ems program is volunteer-majority are unpaid-donate their time.

I work a job with a lot of contact with police officers. I witness the way officers are treated by the public and some of the difficulties of their jobs. I get to know a few as actual people,not just as a uniform and a badge.

Every time I hear a siren, police or ambulance, I say a little prayer for them.