Training while in law enforcement

Posted by: gojuwarr

Training while in law enforcement - 07/17/03 08:03 AM

I've had an ongoing problem the past year or so and it's kept me in and out of my martial arts training about 3 times already. I work security for a union called Local 177 and I'm also a student at John Jay College. My hours at school are steady, but at work they're not. Because of this, I often can't attend martial arts class. I also know this will continue to happen because I plan to join NYPD soon first as a cadet then as an officer. I know there are many people who are still able to balance being an officer and a martial artist, but how do you do it? Any information would help me greatly because I really do want to train but at the same time I don't want to be spending $75.00 a month for dojo fees while not being able to even progress the right way.
Posted by: sabakubushi

Re: Training while in law enforcement - 07/17/03 06:05 PM

It is imperative that you become proficient in a martial art if you plan on going into law enforcement. The self confidence alone will help you control situations that might otherwise turn bad without having to resort to use of force. The physical skills will help you control situation where force is the only choice. It's not a matter of finding the time to train, it's a matter of making the time to train.

Re: Training while in law enforcement - 07/17/03 10:46 PM

It's not that simple though. If I made the time to train, I wouldn't have a job right now and therefore wouldn't eat. You see, when you have a job like that as a security guard or a police officer, a lot of times you can not attend martial arts class because the class is scheduled for the same time you have work. I'm trying to figure out how I can not attend all classes because of that reason, but at the same time somehow still progress at a steady rate.
Posted by: judderman

Re: Training while in law enforcement - 07/18/03 04:58 PM