Army National Guard

Posted by: Stormdragon

Army National Guard - 03/10/08 07:57 AM

Just curious, can anyone give me a breakdown of what, say, a typical drill weekend would be for an Infantryman or MP of the Army National Guard (I'm getting ready to switch from Active Delayed entry to the Guard)?
Posted by: fileboy2002

Re: Army National Guard - 03/10/08 02:25 PM

Three words: booze, babes, and @#$%.

Re: Army National Guard - 03/10/08 03:12 PM

Dammit I'm serious! I want to know I'm gonna get solider training each month and summer and on predeployment. I mean MOUT, react to contact drills, hard PT, etc.
Posted by: everyone

Re: Army National Guard - 03/11/08 02:28 PM

I was an artillery officer in the Army National Guard for about 10 years. It was a long time ago. Some weekends we would stay at the armory and work on basic combat skills and admin, other weekends we would go to a larger base and do live fire exercises. Our 2 weeks in the summer, we would be in the woods most of the time training as close to real war conditions as we could simulate.

Re: Army National Guard - 03/13/08 03:43 AM

I like the sound of that. I hope to do lots of MOUT.
Posted by: BrianS

Re: Army National Guard - 03/18/08 06:50 PM

Quote:

Just curious, can anyone give me a breakdown of what, say, a typical drill weekend would be for an Infantryman or MP of the Army National Guard (I'm getting ready to switch from Active Delayed entry to the Guard)?

I was in field artillery. It's going to depend on your unit and the amount of funds availiable, not to mention the ones making the decisions.

You can bet you will get good training out of it though. The ARNG are not the drunken goofballs thet were there when fileboy was in, we can't afford to be.

Re: Army National Guard - 03/27/08 05:46 AM