The Shakuhachi/art/breath control/spiritual

Posted by: karl314285

The Shakuhachi/art/breath control/spiritual - 08/18/09 02:32 AM

WOW...so sad...either y'all loved the blurb on Japanese Woodblock prints or (more sadly) NO MA folk are interested in the well rounded arts a classic Samurai was to practice, the simplicity/perfecting the exacting eye(or Ear)/and the ritualized entertaining of guests required to compliment and enhance the warrior as whole. Ikibana, rock gardens, calligraphy, music,and the tea ceremony just a few.

The Shakuhachi has a history, an initial form and the form samurai could use as a weapon as well. Names of distinct portions and has masters who choose the bamboo to harvest,carvers, testers, and a host of types of individuals who played this instrument (Buyer be patient, no reed but an exact angle carved as the blowing end called the "utaguchi", i'm no musician, picked mine up at a ritzy art fest, cheap too compared to modern custom mades, why low price....

It is a bear to get the first octave and then there is a second octave obtained first on the "root flutes" or those whose base was cut and shaved 3 circumferential root rings (the noggin knocker samurai used as a weapon) which has a tapering of the bamboo bore, in combination with exacting lip formation and flute angle as second octave is had....IF YOU EVER LEARN HOW TO MAKE A NOTE, hahhahh took me a while and sadly the dude I was boxing as I was gettin good at scales on both octaves closed my eye and punched my mouthpiece out with the bonus of causing a lower incisor to fully exit my lower lip, cutting a nerve, now sensation is been back but cant quite purse lips just right.