Should Okinawa be it's own country?

Posted by: Ed_Morris

Should Okinawa be it's own country? - 04/08/07 11:00 PM

Should Okinawa regain it's sovernty and separate itself from Japan annexation?

a big question for Okinawans thats been going on since 1879.

ref: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ryukyu_independence_movement

discuss your thoughts.
Posted by: Mr_Heretik

Re: Should Okinawa be it's own country? - 04/09/07 01:18 AM

I wonder if the "no politics" rule applies to this. I'm going to vote no.
Posted by: Prizewriter

Re: Should Okinawa be it's own country? - 04/09/07 08:12 AM

I think that they would be better off as part of Japan. I have little knowledge on the situation, but I will say this:

It is a small island that is associated with the 2nd largest economy in the world. GDP and quality of life may suffer if it goes it alone.

I know there are other reasons behind the push for independence, but economic considerations cannot be ignored. As they say in re the main issue of anything in politics "Its the economy, stupid!"

There was an article online I read a while back stating that ofthe majority Okinawan's would prefer to be part of Japan and have USA influence in the area removed completely. I don't know if that is a fair reflection of opinion in Okinawa, as it may not be up to date, and the article in question was to do with the validity of USA in Okinawa. In other words, it wasn't that Okinawa wanted to be part of Japan, rather that they would not have USA armed forces there. Essentially, the question was "Would you rather Japan be in total control of Okinawa than have the USA forces there?" rather than "Would you like to stay as part of Japan?"
Posted by: harlan

Re: Should Okinawa be it's own country? - 04/09/07 08:15 AM

I think considering the history, and China's continued expansion into other countries, I think it would be safer to stay aligned with Japan than out on it's own.

But if they vote to go it alone...more power to them.