Im new to this pressure point stuff

Posted by: PPstudentjoe

Im new to this pressure point stuff - 08/08/06 02:22 PM

Hey everyone my name is Joe and I have ben reading up on pressure point fighting for quite sometime, I'll give you some basic information im 14 am 5 feet 10 and a half inches and weigh 140 143ish Im not sure my scale might be a little off but like I said i've ben studying it but havent gotten around to training I'm here to ask what should i start doing to begin training or find more information on it.I havent found much out about it, any information will be helpful or how I even get into it.I live in hudson wisconsin and the martial arts here sucks we have a USA karate and i was thinking of joining just to spar with people but i dont know any information or advice you could give me would be helpful, and some people say im to old to start wit hmartial arts is that true also?
Posted by: underdog

Re: Im new to this pressure point stuff - 08/08/06 09:06 PM

You are not too old to start. Your age is probably close to optimal in the opinion of some. Pressure points are a bit off in the future for you. If you are just beginning your martial arts study, find a school, which I realize is going to be limited by geographical availability until you can arrange your own transportation. Learn the basics. Then when you have basic skills, as manifested by a black belt, or your instructor's permission, then you can go work pressure points WITH a qualified pressure point instructor. Mark Gridley is teaching in Milwaukee. There are others if you know where to look for them. When the time comes, your instructor can help you too.
Posted by: crablord

Re: Im new to this pressure point stuff - 08/16/06 02:10 AM

your never too old! I started karate when i was 14, and we have people up to 50 coming in as white belts. Pressure points are a bit out of your league right now, but when you get better they will become a possibility
Posted by: wristtwister