Pressure point practice makes you weaker?

Posted by: SANCHIN31

Pressure point practice makes you weaker? - 10/06/05 11:04 PM

I had a similar question like this before,but I can't find it now. Do you feel that striking the same points over and over can be doing unnecessary damage? Has this affected anyone on here negatively before? Is it necessary to perform knockout strikes often or at all?
Posted by: Gavin

Re: Pressure point practice makes you weaker? - 10/07/05 03:43 AM

Hi Sanchin,

As I've said in the past, I've been hitting the points hard for a good 9 years or so, since my late teens and I haven't had any limbs full off yet. I've been having regular Shiatsu treatments for about 6 months or so. During this time, myself and James have really been whapping them on hard. Part of the Shiatsu proccess of diagnosis is examining the flow and strength of the meridians, not once has she said, "Oh my god, your Gall Bladder meridian is so weak, you're about to die!". Last year I had an acupuncture session and didn't get any alarm bells either, in fact he's exacty words were "You're actually very healthy inspite of what you do.".

I think there are far more damaging things you can do to your body, smoking, drinking, poor eating and substance abuse. The effects of these influences are going to cause you far more long term damage from both an energetic and physical point of view. I will however recomend that everyone should have some form of regular TCM treatment, most poeple's energetic systems are in a pretty bad state, hard training and general daily living all create imbalances, Shiatsu, Acupressure or Acupuncture will all help correct these problems. Over the last six months of treatment, my general sense of well being has increased greatly. Currently in the UK, there are quite a lot of Shiatsu practitioners helping those recovering from cancer and apparently they are having great results in speeding up the recovery time. Could be well worth looking into mate.