Karate Kata Tutorials

Posted by: Anonymous

Karate Kata Tutorials - 02/20/05 06:56 PM

I have been a karate student since i was 8 years of age(i am now 13) and I have always had a certain interest in katas, but I would like to find some online tutorials, even pictures, so I could learn different katas on my own, even get extra practice. if someone could give me a link or some help it would be appreciated!

thank you

(currently a green belt in karate, i know heian shodan, heian nidan, heian sandan, heian yondan and am learning heian godan and tekki shodan, I DO SHOTOKAN KARATE!)
Posted by: Isshinryukid4life

Re: Karate Kata Tutorials - 02/22/05 11:59 PM

blaze911,I Think it would be best that you did'nt learn other kata outside of your dojo.

IMO learning other kata/forms outside of the dojo is disrespectful to your sensei,The best thing for you to do,Is learn the katas at your dojo & your dojo only.

Also, You've that said that you were a greenbelt,& If that's the case Learning a different kata will confuse you instead of helping you.

As i've said before the best thing for you to do,Is train at your dojo & no whare else b/c if you're commited,& patient,You just might oneday become an excellent karate ka. [IMG]http://www.fightingarts.com/forums/ubb/smile.gif[/IMG]

Re: Karate Kata Tutorials - 02/23/05 03:45 AM

IMO learning other kata/forms outside of the dojo is disrespectful to your sensei,The best thing for you to do,Is learn the katas at your dojo & your dojo only.

Surely you mean only until you are or start training for black belt (say, for a formal demonstration with bunkai for part of the grading).

Re: Karate Kata Tutorials - 02/25/05 11:39 AM