newbie needing advice

Posted by: labRatBioMajor

newbie needing advice - 06/11/03 04:48 PM

Hey there y'all.

I've been practicing isshinryu for about two years now. newly a 5th kyu.

just started learning how to stumble through Chinto... i want to deepen my personal study of bunkai. i want to be more creative when i go through my kata, imagining many ways to use each move or lack of motion. i'd also like to know of some resources for others' interpretations.

i feel i've been encouraged to rush through a few kata since seisan... seiuchin, naihunchin, wansu, now chinto. i can understand that, and i can see how it is important to first read through a book, for example, before beginning to understand the nuances of each paragraph. i will need to mull over what i have learned for a while before i can really expand on it much. (i hear some say you don't truly begin to delve deeper until you are a black belt... not sure what i think about that, although with the long training and experience will surely come quicker enlightenment)

however, i would like your advice. how do you deepen your study? what do you research? where do you get ideas? do you know of free resources that you recommend, places I would do well to start with?

thank you all! i've loved reading posts here.

in the way,
-LK

[This message has been edited by labRatBioMajor (edited 06-11-2003).]
Posted by: Victor Smith

Re: newbie needing advice - 06/11/03 08:14 PM

Hi LK,

You're asking a good question, how do you find depth in your training.

The best parallel I can give is if you find a really good book on Tai Chi Chaun that contains an instructors secrets from 50 years of study, it is likely it will take you 50 years to appreciate it.