Interesting kata agument

Posted by: diadicic

Interesting kata agument - 05/03/03 10:32 PM

First off I have been doing a lot of kata research for the past 5 years.
I have been finding all kinds of applications and theories. I have also been studying a lot of Okinawn history and culture.

I have been hearing this statement a lot. “The kata only contain moves that are design to deal with untrained attacks, or Violent untrained attacks.” Meaning if you are fighting someone who is trained, your Dead. Ok lets say we accept this. Heres the problem. In 18 century Okinawn, Everybody was trained. Believe it or not even some women. Te or Tode or what ever you want to call it was a past time. The Okinawns were holding tegumi matches that were a touch similar to a modern day grappling compitions. Pre 1900 Tegumi was in reality a very hard freestyle wrestling match were only the best trained would win, and a lot of times people walked away with broken lims or were in choked out. Keeping in mind this was not the objective of these competions, from what I understand from research the object was to either throw them out of the ring or pin them on their back. In the begin of the 1900 the rules of tegumi were changed. The only objective of the game was to throw the opponent out of the ring. Now the tegumi methods are supposed to be hidden within the katas, along with a lot of other stuff. I know Te was always thought to be taught in secret, but Te was only kept a secret when Japan took over the country. So if the art was only for an untrained violent attack and everybody was trained then it was useless. Now It seems to me that there is a whole in this argument. Just a thought.

I mean no disrespect to anyone, I just thought this would make an interesting conversation.
Posted by: joesixpack

Re: Interesting kata agument - 05/04/03 07:02 PM

I don't think this is true, although an untrained person is more likely to set themselves up for counterattacks.