A touch of China with tons of applications

Posted by: Victor Smith

A touch of China with tons of applications - 10/15/06 09:38 PM

Allow me to show you a different dimension of time and space.

The Chinese 5 animal 8 shape form. I have an incredible amount of documentation on this form, and truly find it interesting.

Victor

Kung fu form 5 animals
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rkvxxuqoenI&mode=related&search=
Posted by: Ed_Morris

Re: A touch of China with tons of applications - 10/15/06 11:01 PM

I had to turn off the music to view it seriously.

lots of material in there. how the heck do people memorize forms that long!?

I have a general question about this form and others I notice this in: what is the interpretation of the arm windmilling-like movements? if they are throws, then I'd think they'd need a different mechanic of getting the body into it. perhaps this kata is for a long weapon? or at least parts of it?

sorry for the noob questions...it's my first time seeing this.
Posted by: medulanet

Re: A touch of China with tons of applications - 10/15/06 11:19 PM

Looks like it has principles from just about all of the classical okinawan kata, without the chinese flair.
Posted by: ButterflyPalm

Re: A touch of China with tons of applications - 10/16/06 05:16 AM

Quote:

Looks like it has principles from just about all of the classical okinawan kata, without the chinese flair.

Yes, its very crane-like. The poster is called "Pakhok3" meaning crane3.

Re: A touch of China with tons of applications - 10/16/06 05:39 AM

Hi Ed,

Actually this is not a very long form. Eagle Claw's Lin Kuen (with 50 rows of techniques) is an example of a long form, or perhaps a really long form.

How is it learned, one step at a time.

I like it because of a number of reasons. While different, it's length and technique diversity is similar to some of my chinese stydies (I studied Eagle Claw's Hon Kuen with 10 rows and all of Eagle Claw's techniques present).