Thoughts/Opinions?

Posted by: PierrePressure

Thoughts/Opinions? - 11/10/05 06:45 PM

I'm still pretty new to MA (I've only been in it for about a year), so I have very limited experience in kata. The only one I have been taught so far are the Taeguk katas (1,2,3, a little bit of 4, and 6), and I was curious about how these katas were viewed by other MAists. Now that I know of so many other katas, I'm curious to try some out, but in the meantime, I wanted to know how the Taeguk katas were ranked compared to others.

If this has already been asked a million times before (I don't come to this board enough to know ), just direct me to other threads.
Thanks!
Posted by: BrianS

Re: Thoughts/Opinions? - 11/10/05 06:58 PM

What style does these kata?
Posted by: BuDoc

Re: Thoughts/Opinions? - 11/10/05 10:30 PM

Are these Tae Kwon Do Kata?

I'm sorry that I know nothing about them, except that amongst Tae Kwon do schools there seems to be some controversy over kata(if that is what they are called).

I think there are two kinds. Tae Guk(which you mention) and Pal Gwe.

Maybe a Tae Kwon Do practioner can help.

Page

Re: Thoughts/Opinions? - 11/11/05 12:12 AM

Hmmmm......I think I saw Tae Guk forms (we call them forms in our school, so I don't know if that helps?) in some Tae Kwon Do book awhile back, so I guess it would be pretty fair to conclude that they are indeed from Tae Kwon Do. I'm unsure because at my school there's no specific "style," it's mainly a self-defense school, so my instructor attends seminars and such to learn new things to maybe incoporate into our curriculum. He'll tell us sometimes where stuff comes from ("This is a self-denfense move from such and such."), but sometimes I just don't know. I do know that he hasn't just made it up, though .

Well, if no one is really familiar with Tae Guk, then don't worry about it. I was just curious .
Posted by: BuDoc

Re: Thoughts/Opinions? - 11/11/05 08:22 AM