Weight lifting help!

Posted by: Ender

Weight lifting help! - 10/25/03 09:25 AM

Hey, I have recently joined my high school fitness/weight room.

However, I am worried as to whether there are any precautions I need to take so I can tone and build more muscle mass while at the same time not sacrificing speed or flexibility.

Comments?
Posted by: ninja-raiden

Re: Weight lifting help! - 10/25/03 09:50 AM

I am an avid weight trainer, as most of you probably know, but I can't help give you advice unless you tell me what kind of a body you're trying to achieve.

If you want to put on overall size and mass, work with low reps and heavy weight, about 6-8 reps.

If you want put to on decent size, with some good cuts, do medium reps and medium weight, about 10-12 reps.

If you want to have a very lean body, with tons of muscle definition, do higher reps with low weight, about 15-30 reps.
Posted by: Yoseikan Student

Re: Weight lifting help! - 10/25/03 09:56 AM

Its a bit of a myth that becoming 'big' will slow you down.

Tyson has massive arms, but he's also got/ had, outrageous hand speed.

If you don't want to loose flexibility - carry on stretching!

Don't give way to vanity - at least not too much! By that I mean make your exercises functional, rather than just being able to shift tonnes.

Try and explode with the weight, rather than just pushing it out.

Don't get too carried away with benching, squating and curling, some guys I train with do. They can't deadlift a proportionate amount for instance.

Use free weights in preference to machines - you have to control the weight and use both sides of the body equally, rather than just grunting and shifting.

Remember your back and your legs.

Also, bodyweight exercises work! crunches, pressups, chinups - and vary them so you work different muscle groups. Spread your grip on the chinups, or change the grip. Pressups wide and narrow.

To get big: high weight low reps.

Endurance: low weight high reps.