How do you show you are a martial artist?

Posted by: Raven

How do you show you are a martial artist? - 09/15/03 09:32 PM

I used to wear my school's insignia but i got tired of having to stop and answer questions...did u at one time have this??
Also there might have been a negative side to this...what if i were to be targetted becuase of my insignia..like a gangster want to test me...wow i ran a risk there didn't I.

Anyways I'd like to hear what you guys do to show you are a martial artist..or do u do what i do as in the element of surprise.....
Posted by: kempo_jujitsu

Re: How do you show you are a martial artist? - 09/16/03 12:36 AM

the people who need to know i am a martial artist already know i am a martial artist....dont boast or flaunt it...you may just need that element of surprise you were talking about one day.
Posted by: Chen Zen

Re: How do you show you are a martial artist? - 09/16/03 01:06 AM

Exactly.
Posted by: mark

Re: How do you show you are a martial artist? - 09/16/03 02:00 AM

I just hate to see new students wearing their Gi`s outside the dojo, you see people shopping in them, proud that they do Karate etc. I have even seen someone in the local kebab shop in their Gi!!!

Mind you I did have a sensei many years ago that actually sat in the pub ( the compulsory after training, REAL session), still wearing his Gi and black belt and holding a pint!!! [IMG]http://www.fightingarts.com/forums/ubb/biggrin.gif[/IMG]

Mark
Posted by: charles mckey

Re: How do you show you are a martial artist? - 09/16/03 04:08 AM

I turn up to training sessions and do my best. I train at home and push myself as much as I can.

That's it really. Should I be looking into getting a secret handshake, or something? [IMG]http://www.fightingarts.com/forums/ubb/smile.gif[/IMG]
Posted by: Big Bear

Re: How do you show you are a martial artist? - 09/16/03 05:23 AM

[QUOTE]Originally posted by charles mckey: