Violent Minds

Posted by: Stealthdozer

Violent Minds - 09/06/03 12:54 AM

“Know your enemy as you know yourself, and you will be successful in one hundred battles.”
*Sun Tzu, The Art of War

There is a dark joke that goes: How do you recognize an incompetent self-defense instructor? He is the one who has never been beaten into a pulp. Ever since I was a baby being beaten, I’ve been a student of violence. Violence is reality: at some point almost everyone is touched by violence, directly or otherwise. This is what I think:

The truth about violence is that this pain will almost always be inflicted upon you by someone that you know, perhaps even trust and love: a family-member, a spouse, a lover; a mentor, a colleague or an acquaintance.

Rather than wandering through life as a paranoid delusional lump or struggle with irrational demophobia, it is better to recognize the perpetrators and their methods prior to their initiating violence, avoiding them if possible, or preparing for them if necessary.

Obviously, a bully with an assumed superiority (particularly one mired in an Alpha/Beta world view) is someone who is likely to add violence to your life, especially if the bully believes that they can avoid or negate the negative consequences of their behavior.

People handicapped by the following traits (especially when combined), they are also potentially perpetrators of violence:

Beware of people who arrogantly assume they can control the actions of other people.

Beware of people that are extremely selfish or have an exaggerated (often “outraged”) sense of entitlement.

Beware of people if they demand instant gratification, and especially if they are addicted to drugs or alcohol.

Never tolerate a mean drunk. A mellow drunk bothers no one; a merry and emphatic drunk can be amusing. A mean drunk will always cause you or others harm. Never diminish your own capabilities in the presence of a mean drunk, or where you can expect one to arrive.