One Inch Punch

Posted by: Raven

One Inch Punch - 09/05/03 12:19 AM

Does anybody know the one inch punch technique...well bruce lee used it(not sure if he invented it,doubt it)...to those who do know it ( i don't know how to explain it) But basically i was trying it out and well I hit with the top knuckles...then the bottom knuckles...but when i do the bottom ones..its more of a push then a hit upwards...so I don't know if this is correct, thanks guys for listening
Nevar

P.S. I hear some people in JKD boxing push?/hit downwards instead of upwards...i don't know how but they do...maybe they hit with the bottom knuckles then switch to the top ones.
Posted by: wrwakefi

Re: One Inch Punch - 09/05/03 05:22 AM

I'm no expert, but... try a Wing Chun school, and after a few years you may be taught it! Otherwise, here's my technique, I'm not saying it's 100% right, or better than anyone elses for that matter, it's just how i do it OK :-)

Here's some background; you need to involve a good stance, your back muscles (the ones that are stretched by grabbing a railing infront of you with your feet under the railing and leaning backwards!), and explosive energy.

Using the right hand...
Start with a loose fist. Imagine holding a bokken for instance. (So the palm is facing to the left). and the wrist is tilted down, so the imaginary bokken is towards your oponent.

Now comes the hard part!

Your wrist flicks upwards so the bottom two to three knuckles connect with the target, and your hand clenches tightly on impact. those back muscles come in too and your whole shoulder seems to shoot forward through the target. If you just use you arm muscles it's got no power, you can generate enormous amounts of power if involve your back.

Not a great explanation but hey it's a start.