Complimentary Art For BJJ

Posted by: BJJBrazil

Complimentary Art For BJJ - 02/14/07 09:33 PM

Hi

I've been doing alot of reading around here on the forums. I've been doing BJJ for around 4 months and was wondering what the best complimentary art would be for my BJJ??? I specifically want this art to be good for real self defense and not just "sport". Real life situations. As we know real life violence is entirely different than sport. Thanks.

BJJBrazil
Posted by: migo

Re: Complimentary Art For BJJ - 02/14/07 09:39 PM

Wrestling's good, especially if you work your way up to the collegiate level.
Posted by: Zombie Zero

Re: Complimentary Art For BJJ - 02/14/07 09:49 PM

I recommend a stand-up, striking art. TKD, Karate, HapKiDo, etc... they're all good complimentary arts, as long as the school is legitimately geared toward self-defense.

BJJ is awesome on the ground, but if you wind up in a streetfight, you want to try and keep from going to the ground, in case your attacker has a buddy lurking in the shadows.

Strike hard, knock him down, run away.
Posted by: Umbra_777

Re: Complimentary Art For BJJ - 02/14/07 09:51 PM

Muay Thai. Boxing (although it lacks kicks and stuff which is a downside), Judo, good Aikido, good Karate/Taekwondo, a reputable combatives system (avoid ones that overly appeal to macho fantasys). Basicly it would probably be good to get a standing martial art to compliment your experience on the ground.

-Umbra
Posted by: JKogas

Re: Complimentary Art For BJJ - 02/14/07 10:51 PM

Boxing, wrestling and jits all done together = MMA. Do that.

-John
Posted by: Taison

Re: Complimentary Art For BJJ - 02/14/07 11:39 PM

Muay Thai. 'nuff said.

-Taison out
Posted by: Dereck

Re: Complimentary Art For BJJ - 02/15/07 01:17 PM

Agree with all, just make sure it is a good school teaching quality techniques.

Re: Complimentary Art For BJJ - 02/15/07 01:27 PM